The Ber Series: DIY Dessert

Merry Christmas! I hope you had a good one. 😀

Whew! Got caught up in the Christmas rush and celebration that I wasn’t able to blog earlier (psh! what deadlines??)… but it’s still December so technically I still can blog under the “Ber Series” :). And to finally finish it up, I’ll be making dessert.

Leche Flan is one of the staple dessert of a Filipino celebration. I have a sweet tooth and its always one of the food on my plate. I never knew how easy it is to make them until a few Christmases back when we agreed that we’ll be cooking one food each to complete our “Noche Buena” menu. I think it’s one of the Spanish influences in our culture. Leche means “milk” in Spanish.

I made this on the afternoon of Christmas eve. I got off work early and.. Oh man! I had to fall in line for more than an hour at the grocery store to get the ingredients.

Lined up for an hour just to get these in our kitchen.

This recipe is good for 3 Llaneras. The aluminum tray I used is called a Llanera and is what we typically use for leche flans.

After getting all the ingredients (and a little bit of Christmas gift rush shopping). I went home and started making the Leche Flan. First thing I did was to prepare the caramel to give it time to cool down while I make the milk and egg mixture.

Next was the leche flan mixture. It’s pretty easy,  just need to mix everything together….

Adding the lemon rind and juice is optional. I used to add vanilla essence before but I find that adding lemon gives it a little zest against the sweetness…

After all that mixing, the caramel has hardened by now, so the next thing to do is just pour the mixture over it…

While steaming, I washed the utensils I used…

christmas 02

wrapped some of the Christmas gifts I bought …

and even did a little bit of last minute decorating.

christmas 01

 

There are definitely other ways to cook it other than steaming. The first time I made this, I used a rice cooker and then an oven.

When the steaming was done, I let it cool down and put it in the refrigerator and continued with my Christmas gift wrapping (I was in the zone!). I took it out 15 minutes before midnight and served it cold… it was yummy!

sorry about this blurry pic. Was in a rush to get it to the table before 12:00.. 😀

Quick and easy! 🙂

We had a fun and loud Christmas dinner for 6. 🙂

I’m happy to report that we ate it all up and no one got a tummy ache from my dessert (*clap*clap*clap* *grin*grin*grin*) 😀

That’s it for the Ber Series! 🙂 (Congratulations to me!) Thanks for reading!

Incase you missed the earlier topics…

>>>>>> The Ber Series <<<<<<

September – DIY Christmas Decors

October – DIY Christmas Cards

November – DIY Christmas Gift #1

November – DIY Christmas Gift #2

November – DIY Christmas Gift #3

 

 

Leave a Reply

