Playlist for the determined

We all have our share of challenging moments.. because well, we’re alive.  The good comes with the bad.

Like everyone else, I get by with the help of family and friends but essentially I believe I surpass those moments because I am determined to. No help will ever work if you, yourself, have given up.

I always draw inspiration and strength not only from the people around me but also from the things I read, see, and hear. Music definitely plays a big part. Nothing like a good lyric to describe exactly what you are going through. Mas masarap mag-emote pag may soundtrack!

Here are some songs that I listen to for encouragement or just to boost morale. I call it my.. playlist 2    Mindy Gledhil – Whole Wide World

-This song makes me want to do something… makes me want to fulfill things I’ve been dreaming of doing or achieving. I listen to this song while doing things that I like.

Quotable Quotes:

“I’m just a little girl with great big plans”
“All failure is fleeting, I trust it always has its meaning.”

 

 Titanium – David Guetta ft. Sia

– The song for the challenged. This is the loud version that ignites that sense of  “rebellion” . This song is about resilience so if you are in a situation where the odds are against you, repeat these lines to yourself like a battle cry:

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose!
Fire away, fire away!
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away!
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium!

Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen

-When you are in the middle of something and giving up is so enticing (wow rhyming words! hehe) make yourself believe you are having a good time by listening to this song. The music is like a mini musical that makes you tap your feet , nod your head back and forth . Singing along to this song turns you into your very own personal cheerleader..hey hey hey!

I’m a shooting star
leaping through the sky Like a tiger
defying the laws of gravity
I’m a racing car
passing by like Lady Godiva
I’m gonna go go go
There’s no stopping me

 

Win – Brian McKnight

– The never giving up song (it says so in its lyrics). I like everything about this song. Everything about the lyrics. It captures the feelings I experience during trying times. I love every bits of this song…

I’ll never give up
Never give in
Never let a ray of doubt slip in
And if I fall
I’ll never fail
I’ll just get up and try again
Never lose hope
Never lose faith
There’s much too much at stake
Upon myself I must depend
I’m not looking for place ashore
I’m gonna win

 

You Gotta Be – Des’ree

– A song that tells you to be tough and calm.

“Listen as your day unfolds, challenge what the future holds Try and keep your head up to the sky”

“Try to solve the puzzles in your own sweet time”

 

Lift Up Your Hands To God – Gary Valenciano

– This is the song that gave me comfort during my university days.. homesick, alone, tired, and no one to talk to. I even made a banner of the verse (Matthew 11:28-30) and stuck it to my wall. I remember going back to my dorm in the afternoon inbetween classes, laying down on my bed and just staring at that poster. Trying to comfort myself. This song help me through those lonely times…

And He said, “Cast your burdens upon Me
Those who are heavily laden,
Come to Me, all of you who are tired
Of carrying heavy loads,
For the yoke I will give you is easy
And My burden is light,
Come to Me and I will give you rest.”

 

Let It Go – Idina Menzel

-I liked this song from the first time I heard it.. but when I learned that the composer is a Filipino.. I loved it! hehehe… an OPM in disguise. This song just talks about breaking free and taking control.

Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door
I don’t care
what they’re going to say
Let the storm rage on.
The cold never bothered me anyway

 

Gonna Fly Now – Bill Conti

-Gio told me before that the best songs to listen to while your are in deep concentration are songs without lyrics.. So I’ve added this song to my repertoire. It still has a little lyrics though but very encouraging.. The music makes me climb up and down the stairs while doing air puches just like Rocky (in my mind hehe) ..

Trying hard now
it’s so hard now
trying hard now

Getting strong now
won’t be long now
getting strong now

Gonna fly now
flying high now
gonna fly, fly, fly…

I guess that’s mostly all of the songs that stirs up the determination in me from my personal playlist. Nowadays I usually listen to them at the office, most especially when I am alone and doing overtime. hehe

Feel like continuing the soundtrip? Here’s more from the bestfriend!

3 thoughts on “Playlist for the determined

  1. Pingback: Songs in My Phone | Breadcrumbs Stories

  2. While I was reading your blog, I face palmed myself and thought “oo nga! nsan nga naman yung mga songs to motivate ko??! Pwede naman e!” hehe I am particularly a fan of Titanium because the song has so much attitude and will make you think and of all the hardships you have endured and how bravely you overcame each one ^_^
    Fire away!!

Leave a Reply

